The land on which the hotel is located belonged to the Order of the Jesuits until the eighteenth century when the King of Naples, Ferdinand IV of Bourbon acquired the property and gave a part of it to his cousin Paul Leopold of Bourbon, Count of Syracuse.
In 1792 the Count built Villa Poggio Siracusa whose sumptuous rooms hosted dames and barons eager to leisure in that joyful Eden. The tragic death of the beloved of the Count, started a period of decline that lasted until 1885 when the Cortchacow family bought the area.
The villa returned to its original glory by becoming the theatre of stories, passions and famous receptions.
The new owners started the striking creation of a dacha in the English Gothic style to be used for a future visit of the illustrious cousin, Tsar Nicholas II of Russia.
The hotel is located right on the remains of the never completed dacha.